Fish Custard Fudge

Ah, Bakers Anonymous family, you know about Doctor Who, don’t you? While I didn’t grow up watching it on television like my father, I’d heard the wonderful stories of the man with the blue box and even watched a taped movie or two.

Sadly, I wasn’t much interested in the Doctor when I was younger, but when we heard that the show was coming back to television after a decade and a half absence, my siblings and I were very excited.

I mean, seriously. What kid doesn’t love new television shows? And then we watched it.

Blown. Away.

And we’ve been watching ever since. I became particularly obsessed with the David Tennant doctor ’cause, well, he’s freakin’ awesome. Also, I loved the love story between the Doctor and Rose. Ah, romance. And then the Doctor died.

Boo.

But then there was Matt Smith! And we were all like, eh, Matt Smith. But then he turned out to be pretty cool. He wore a fez!

And after watching the below episode of Doctor Who (featuring a recently regenerated Doctor), I couldn’t get fish custard out of my head. None of the previous episodes had ever really focused on food.

So this was a pleasant surprise. And it made me want to do something with it.

And then, I promptly forgot about it, until I came across a certain seller on Etsy offering up “fish custard” fudge. Uh, yes please? After a search for a fish custard fudge recipe came up fruitless, yielding only this really cool post for fish stick cookies from Bakingdom, I decided to take matters into my own hands. Besides, what else could I give my daddy for Father’s Day but Doctor Who fudge?

Fish Custard Fudge

Based on a recipe from Kraft Recipes.

Ingredients
8 oz. of white chocolate (I ended up using 11 oz of white chocolate)
1/2 C butter
1/3 C water
1 3.9 oz package of French Vanilla pudding
3 C powdered sugar
5 oz bag of Swedish Fish

Directions
1. Chop your Swedish Fish to bits. For what I knew I’d be mixing inside the fudge, I tried to make the pieces as small as possible. To top off the fudge, I cut a fish into three pieces.

2. Line an 8×8 pan with foil. I ended up using a larger pan, but that just means thinner fudge.

3. Microwave half of the chocolate, six tbsp. butter and water in large microwaveable bowl until butter is melted; stir. It took about a minute, minute and a half for me.

4. Add dry pudding mix. Stir two minutes.

5. Add in the powdered sugar, one cup at a time. After the second cup, I added in the Swedish fish bits. Mixing in the third cup of powdered sugar might be tough; it’s okay if you don’t use it all.

6. Press onto bottom of prepared pan.

The next step is only necessary if you want to top your fudge with extra chocolate. Since white chocolate is very temperamental, use at your own discretion. If you don’t want the chocolate, go straight to decorating with fish parts! 

7. Microwave remaining chocolate squares and butter until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate until chocolate is thoroughly mixed in. Spread over pudding mixture.

8. Press the Swedish Fish parts into the top of the fudge. I was able to fit six parts across to four rows.

9. Refrigerate until just firm. Using the fish pieces as your cutting guideline, cut out 24 pieces. If you are using a smaller pan, you may have less. Keep refrigerated. To serve, let come to room temperature.

This fudge is light and fluffy, like a marshmallow, but still thick enough to provide you with a solid bite.

One thought on “Fish Custard Fudge

Leave a Reply

