Product Review: Crunch Girl Scout Cookie Bars

My dear Bakers Anonymous family, sometimes I get tired of eating baked goods.

I know, I know, blasphemy. How can I not want to eat baked goods all the time, right? Between the cakes, cookies, brownies, bars and other numerous baked treats, how could I want for anything else?

I don’t know, my friends, but there are days when I just a darn chocolate bar.

A few weeks ago, I heard about these Girl Scouts cookie bars from CRUNCH and thought I was going insane. What do you mean, my beloved chocolate bars are combining with Girl Scout cookies? Are you trying to blow my mind? And then I heard they weren’t coming out until June, and suddenly, I was a lot less excited.

But then, when I was in CVS on Sunday afternoon, innocently heading to the pharmacy in the back of the store, I spotted the display of Girl Scout cookie bars. I did a double take, a triple take, and then started to drool over the display of individual (AND BOXED. THEY SOLD ‘EM IN BOXES) bars – Thin Mint, Caramel and Coconut (Samoa) and Peanut Butter Creme (Tagalongs).

Since I don’t like peanut butter cookies (that doesn’t make me Communist, I swear), I only picked out the first two.

The Thin Mint candy bars might as well be the cookies themselves. If there’s one thing companies around the world have managed to do, it’s perfectly replicated the delicious and delicate balance of chocolate and mint. Inside the bar are chocolate wafer layers, topped with what seems like the exact same mint creme used in the regular cookies and a sprinkling of puffed rice on top (to make it more Crunch bar-like?)

As for the Samoas, which are my undeniable favorite in Girl Scout cookie form, these bites are drizzled in orange caramel topping, filled with crispy wafer layer, more caramel and a hint of toasted coconut, which you can see just under the coating of milk chocolate. Overall, these are mildly sweet and the chocolate has an artificial taste that takes away from what could potentially be an amazing treat.

So there you have it. These are definitely worth the $1.19 each I paid, though I wish (oh, do I ever) that the caramel ones were much closer to their namesakes. In the meantime, I’ll have to settle for these Keebler Coconut Dreams. Not like I”m complaining.

– Niki

Niki’s Note: By the way, these things taste a million times better if they’re refrigerated over night. I highly recommend it!

3 thoughts on “Product Review: Crunch Girl Scout Cookie Bars

Leave a Reply

