Chocolate covered Oreos

Bakers Anonymous family, change sucks, doesn’t it? Sometimes change can be great, like when you change your hairstyle or when you decide that maybe it’s okay to go to school without your “security hoodie” anymore. And sometimes, a change can represent the loss of an important person or place. For me, this time around, it’s the latter.

As of today, my newspaper office is officially closed. I’m in a new office, working for the same paper, but without the team that kept me sane since I first showed up as a desk editor last October. We laughed about so many stupid things – conspiracy theories, weird occurrences heard over the police scanner and yes, even our fair share of arguments. We’ve forgotten to place ads, structured pages wrong and forgotten to correct copy-editing mistakes. And now, after what seems like much longer than my eight months, I’ve been forced to depart from that team and hole up in an office already packed with people.

Not really looking forward to it, to be honest.

But, in the spirit of keeping the last day light (and making a treat that I’d seen on Pinterest), I brought in these chocolate-covered Oreos.

Because I’m just that awesome.

These were a total hit in the office. And the best part is that you can customize these any way you want – different colored coatings, sets of sprinkles and maybe even a surprise inside the cookie? 🙂 Go crazy!

Chocolate Covered Oreos

Ingredients
1  15.5 oz package of Reduced Fat Oreos (Hey, we’re already coating them in chocolate. Why not help everyone out a little?)
1 16 oz package of Candiquik (I found this at my local Target in the baking supplies section, but if you can’t find Candiquik, candy coating or white chocolate will work well)
1 container of sprinkles or other toppings

Directions
1. Cover a cookie sheet in foil.
2. Follow the directions on the Candiquik package to melt the chocolate (mine took one and a half minutes to melt in the microwave).
3. Carefully roll the Oreos in the coating. Place the covered Oreos on the foil. Immediately dash on some sprinkles (or whatever toppings of your choice).
4. Refrigerate for up to ten minutes before placing into decorative bags, etc.

My tray of Candiquick produced 25 covered Oreos, but I’m not stingy with the chocolate. It was a think coating. Mmm. I could have made these on sticks, too, but I think I need Double Stuffed Oreos for that.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate covered Oreos

  1. Aren’t these wonderful!? I’ve made my share of oreo pops – always a hit. Have you ever tried the oreo balls? (1 pkg oreos, finely crushed + 8 oz cream cheese…rolled into tight balls and dipped in candiquik)? Thanks for linking back to CandiQuik. 🙂

    • I have done the Oreo truffles, but not dipped in the Candiquik. Now that I know where to buy it, I will be sure to try it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

