Saturday recipe round-up, week 8

Ah, June. What do we here at Bakers Anonymous think of this month? Not much, to be honest. June is the herald of summer, our least favorite season. Unless you have primo air conditioning (like I currently do at my house), the desire to make baked goods is absolutely nowhere to be found. And while I love no-bake treats as much as the next person, sometimes you just want a chewy, fresh-baked cookie, you know?

These strawberry lemonade cupcakes from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen perfectly express the summertime sentiments without bringing all the nasty humidity into your house. I just love the bright colored frosting!

Cookie Madness brings us this sour cream chocolate and butterscotch chip cake that is actually more of a loaf than a real cake, and requires no extra rising time. And did you notice that delicious-looking glaze on top? I did.

More summer madness is brought to you by Krissy’s Creations: red velvet funnel cake! Let that one sink in again – red velvet funnel cake. Mmm. I can smell the carnivals and farm fairs already.

If you don’t want to fry anything, let these baked confetti donuts take center stage at your picnic table. All you need is a donut pan (why, why, why don’t I have one of those yet?) and a jar full of sprinkles. The Sweet Life even baked them straight into the batter!

I love oranges and I love white chocolate chips, but I don’t love creamsicles. They just taste super nasty to me. Perhaps these pretty orange creamsicle cookies from Six Sister’s Stuff will taste much better than their ice cream counterparts? Here’s hoping.

Those are our early summer treats! Enjoy your first few days of June, everyone. I’m off to watch Snow White and the Huntsman. Mmm, Chris Hemsworth. Now he’s a tasty cookie I’d enjoy in any weather. 😉 – Niki

Leave a Reply

