Chocolate Butterscotch Walnut Cookies and a fond farewell

Dear Bakers Anonymous family, Monday was a sad day for me. After nearly two years of close companionship with my teddy bear hamster, Butterscotch, I had to put my little pet down due to medical reasons. I’m still in recovery mode, so I did the one thing I know how to do best in times of crisis – bake. In honor of my lost buddy, I made these chocolate butterscotch walnut cookies, using the chocolate butterscotch-chip cookie recipe from 101 Things to do With a Cake Mix, a book I finally purchased. As much as I miss my hamster, I’m happy that she’s out of pain and off in Hammie Heaven.

Chocolate Butterscotch Walnut Cookies

Ingredients:
1 box of chocolate cake mix (I used Pillsbury’s dark chocolate mix)
2 eggs
One-third cup of all-natural applesauce (I used applesauce instead of vegetable oil. Cut out the bad stuff when you can!  One 4 oz container of Musselman’s all-natural applesauce is about a one-third cup)
One and a half cups of butterscotch chips
1 C of chopped and halved walnuts

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with foil.
2. Mix together the eggs and the applesauce. Stir in the box of cake mix, a little bit at a time. The dough will be slightly stiff and sticky.
3. Add in the butterscotch chips, making sure to incorporate them to every part of the batter.
4. Drop the dough  by rounded tablespoonfuls onto the lined cookie sheet. The dough will not spread much, but it will puff up.
5. Bake for 10 minutes.
6. Allow to cool for 30 seconds to one minute on the cookie sheet before removing to cooling racks. They might stick to the foil a little bit. Make sure you use a plastic pancake turner.

This recipe will make two and a half dozen cakey, light and butterscotch-y, delicious cookies, depending on how much dough you use for each drop.

Leave a Reply

