Bakers Anonymous Thanksgiving: Chapter 1, Dessert First

Happy Thanksgiving my Bakers Anonymous friends! Today is my big day to break out my culinary skills and wow my family with Cornish game hens and spruced-up stuffing. Am I nervous? You bet I am. But I started off my Thanksgiving celebration with a favorie tradition of mine – cookie turkeys. It began nine years ago when, on Thanksgiving, I got it into my head that I wanted to do something special, start a tradition of my own. After a search through the cookbooks under the microwave, I came across the following recipe, which I altered just this year for the sake of time and sanity.

Cookie Turkeys

Ingredients (for 36 turkeys):
2 boxes of Mallomars
1 package of fudge stripe cookies
1 bag of candy corn
1  package of chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Gather up your ingredients and un-box them.

2. Carefully slice the fudge stripe cookies down the middle, doing your best to make as an even a cut as possible.

3. Melt the chocolate (about 1/2 – 1 cup of chocolate chips) in the microwave at 30-second intervals. Stir until smooth. Chocolate chips may retain their shape in the microwave.

4. Take the fudge halves and glue them to the Mallomars using the chocolate.

5. Gently flip the cookie over. Using the chocolate, stick a candy corn to the front of the of the Mallomar.

6. The assembled cookie should like this:

7. Put the cookies (18 to a large dinner plate) in the freezer and chill them until the chocolate sets or until you’re ready to serve. I like them best chilled, but family members have enjoyed them room temperature and I’ve never heard a complaint!

Enjoy your Thanksgiving dinners! I’ll report back tomorrow with details of how my meal went, as well as a few choice recipes prepared for today. And no matter what, don’t forget to give thanks for the blessings in your life.

Leave a Reply

