A quick, journalistic glance

Hi, everyone!

I know that I’ve been away for some time now, but trust me, I’ve been baking, gathering photos (though not of the jello cheesecake or caramel-topped brownies I made in the past two weeks. I’m dumb), and doing homework until I drop. Speaking of homework, here’s a post about what copy editors can do to stop the perception that media is biased and inaccurate:

As a woman who is normally the reporter and submitting the stories, I’m used to seeing the responsibility of bias and accuracy on the reporter. If the reporter herself does not get the facts correct the first time, then the blame lies with her; however, because there are other editors who can check the facts, it is important to recognize the important job that copy editors do. On a daily basis, copy editors can make sure that all articles are fact checked as much as possible, and that opinions, no matter how small, are taken out of the article. Opinions can be inserted into articles in the simplest way possbile – a single word. Often word choice conveys how the reporter feels about the situation, which then makes the article biased. It is difficult for copy editors to dedicate so much time to each individual article, making sure that they are all “perfect” and still get a newspaper out on deadline.

In my opinion, the copy editors should not take on more responsibility because they are already bogged down with enough work as it is, but there would be nothing wrong with writing their actual job description. In fact, if the description were rewritten, then people who think they want that job but aren’t serious about it would reconsider, leaving the position open for people who can handle all the responsibility that comes with the job.

In addition, I feel that reporters should definitely learn more copy-editing skills (that’s what I’m doing in my copy editing class!). If the reporters, who are the face of the story as well as the pen, knew how to do basic copy editing on their own stories, then copy editors could focus on the important aspects of their jobs, like fact checking, not spell checking. Isn’t that why the AP stylebook is in place? Hello? People? Use the tools you are given! At the same time, certain technologies that can be used to aid copy editors might actually impair them. Crashing computer programs and spell check can’t catch all of the everyday mistakes that reporters easily make. Misplaced comma, anyone?

Niki’s Note: Dear faithful BakersAnon readers,

I promise that I will put up photos of my anniversary trip to New York City soon. I went to Junior’s Cheesecake!

Leave a Reply

