I’m back!

spread out the mixture

After a devastatingly long two weeks, I’m finally back to food blogging. And trust me, I’ve missed it. This whole “virus-infected-your-computer-and-now-your-hard drive-needs-to-be-reformated” experience has taught me two things: 1. I have to start backing up all my files, etc, and 2. I LOVE FOOD BLOGGING.

At the exact moment that my laptop decided to “poof” on me, I was in the process of completing my fourth semester at Rowan University. I also was working on moving myself out of my college apartment, which has left me with a giant whole in my heart as when I return to campus in the fall, I’ll be in a freshman dorm, working with young kiddies.

And no kitchen of my own.

Let us be clear on this part though – in no simple means will I stop baking! There’s a community kitchen in the building that I’ll be moving to, so I have decided to commandeer it. I am excited for new opportunities, but these next few months (June, July, and half of August) I’m back at my Grammy’s, working on no-bake recipes.

Here’s a quick treat that is sure to save you money on movie theater candy!

Chocolate-Covered Raisin Bites

Ingredients:

2 C raisins (approx.)

2 C milk chocolate or semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

crumble raisins into the chocolate1. Melt the chocolate in the microwave or on the stove top, whichever you prefer. Make sure you melt one cup first, then slowly add the second cup to temper the chocolate.

2. I had to crumble my raisins into the chocolate mixture because they were stuck together from the heat. Stir in the raisins into the chocolate, making sure that they are all coated as evenly possible.

3. Pour the mixture into a foil-covered pan or baking sheet. Freeze for about 30 minutes.

4. When the mixture has set, peel off the foil and break into as big or as small pieces as you want!

break up the chocolate

Niki’s Note: I moved out of my apartment a few days after I made these, leaving behind the rest of the chocolate chips and raisins. Trust me, I’m still devastated about it. Serves me right, being absent-minded.

Niki’s Postscript: Check back tomorrow for Memorial Day pictures and some news about my summer plans!

One thought on “I’m back!

  1. Welcome back, Niki!! I love chocolate-covered raisins…but never thought of making them myself. Thanks for posting this recipe. I’m going to give it a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

