Cream cheese sugar cookies

Sugar cookies

My cookie jar is empty.

I cleaned out of the stale cookies that have been sitting in there for probably over a month now, waiting to be eaten by my boyfriend and me. Shortbread, German chocolate, and two peppermint chocolate chip cookies rested in a small, sad heap, making teary eyes at me as I picked them up to throw them in the trash.

“Please don’t get rid of us, Niki, we love you,” they said.

“I’m sorry, guys, but you are just …” I sniffed, “not good anymore.”

And then I placed them into the trashcan, closing the cabinet door on them. I turned to the oven where a batch of sugar cookies were gently baking, ready to be eaten by my Publication Layout class this morning.

The recipe is, yet again, from my Philadelphia Cream Cheese Classic Recipes cookbook. The 10 remaining cookies sit patiently in my cookie jar, waiting to be eaten by my boyfriend who will be home next week. 🙂

leftover

Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

1 package (8 oz) Philadelphia cream cheese

1 C (2 sticks) butter, softened

2/3 C sugar (I think I accidentally put 1/3 C sugar … but it still tasted good!)

1/4 tsp vanilla

2 C flour

colored sugar for decorating

DoughDirections:

1. Beat cream cheese, butter, sugar, and vanilla until well-blended. Mix in flour. Refrigerate several hours or overnight.

Niki’s Note: Dough must be refrigerated or it will be difficult to work with.

2. When you’re ready to bake them, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

3. I made my cookies into regular balls and flatten them out, but the you can also roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thickness on lightly floured surface. Cut into desired shapes; sprinkle with colored sugar.

4. Place on ungreased cookie sheets and bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned. Cool on wire racks.

5. Have fun with them!

four-cookies

One thought on “Cream cheese sugar cookies

Leave a Reply

