Crunch and Butterfinger: dessert in a bar

It’s around 90 degrees in South Jersey today, and I really don’t want to bake anything. When you live in a tiny loft apartment like I do (non-air conditioned, I might add), the thought of using a gas stove is frightening – very frightening.

Instead of baking anything today, it’s time to pull out a trust candy bar, something that’s simple, no-bake, and still chocolate. When my boyfriend and I went grocery shopping for eggs and cream cheese, we passed the candy aisle; my eyes fell on two over-sized candy bars that were part of a four for $5 deal. I never skip chocolate sales, especially when I have a supermarket card.

Butterfinger

Butterfinger

Ever the classic, Butterfingers were originally developed by the Curtiss Candy Company of Illinois in 1923. They’re trademarked by the bright orange candy filling similar to peanut brittle with a chocolate coating.

What we purchased was one of their Giant Bars which has the orange flakes scattered throughout the chocolate. It comes in in easy-to-break sections perfect for, like the package advertises, sharing with another. I prefer to eat Butterfingers this way, because the orange filling sticks to my molars too easily in the regular form.

Crunch Bar

Crunch Bar

I’d rank this candy higher than the Butterfinger bar, but not by much. Introduced into public market in 1938, Nestlé Crunch is made of milk chocolate and crisped rice. It originally used to be packaged in a foil sleeve with a second paper one, but Nestlé recently discontinued it in favor of more conventional ways.

I like this candy bar because of its light and airy taste, as well as its portability. It doesn’t seem to melt as quickly as some of the other candy bars, and it doesn’t get stuck in my teeth, either.

Niki’s Note: Completely unrelated to candy bars, I want to thank all the readers/viewers who helped this blog reach over 1,000 hits! I hope you keep coming back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

