Chocolate caramel crackers

Yum

I saw this chocolate caramel crackers recipe on Smitten Kitchen and thought it was the coolest dessert ever. I was also pretty sure that I’d had it before, a vague memory poked at me in the back of my mind whenI happened upon it. Reading through the recipe, I was intimidated by the fact I had to make my own caramel for these treats, so I searched the internet for another recipe and found this one which was apparently taking from a 2003 issue of “Gourmet.”

Personally, I think it’s delicious, even though the edges did get a little burnt with all the sugar.

Chocolate Caramel Graham Crackers

Ingredients:

10-12 graham crackers

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/2 C packed light brown sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1 1/2  C semisweet chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s milk chocolate instead)

1 C toppings like coconut, toffee pieces, nuts, leftover Easter candy, etc

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Line the bottom of a foil-covered baking pan/sheet with graham crackers, overlapping if necessary.

3. Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat, add the brown sugar and salt, and cook, whisking until the mixture is smooth, about one minute. Pour over crackers, spreading evenly and bake in the middle of the oven until golden brown and bubbling, about 10 minutes.

Niki’s Note: You should probably lessen the time or watch this carefully. I didn’t realize how quickly sugar could burn!

4. Scatter the chocolate chips evenly over the surface and put back into the oven for about 30 seconds to a minute. Remove pan and spread the chocolate evenly over the crackers.

5. Sprinkle your toppings (I chose Baker’s coconut and Heath toffee pieces) evenly over the surgace and allow to cool on a rack for 30 minutes.

6. Remove to fridge or freezer until the chocolate is firm.

7. Lift the crackers from the pan while pulling back the foil at the same time. Break crackers according to the lines or into jagged pieces.

Keep chilled for up to two weeks.

Note: Serving size depends on how you break the pieces and how big your baking pan is.

One thought on “Chocolate caramel crackers

  1. Oh, this sounds so good!! It doesn’t seem that difficult to make either. Thanks for the note about watching the time. I’ll be sure to do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

