Strawberry frosted chocolate chip shortbread cookies

Evil CriscoAll I wanted was to make shortbread cookies. That was ALL I wanted to do. I’d never made them before and thought it would be a nice treat for my boyfriend and his friends to come home to a freshly baked batch of candy-topped cookies.

No. I was not allowed.

Apparently, when making shortbread cookies, you really shouldn’t substitute shortening for butter. Hence why when I baked up my first batch of shortbread cookies to decorate with delicious Cadbury mini eggs, it tasted like straight flour.

I purchased more butter and made a second batch of shortbread cookies, better, stronger, faster, and covered in strawberry frosting. I win! I think everything came together nicely for my second try.

Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies

(with homemade strawberry frosting!)

Cookie ingredients:

3/4 C softened butter

1/4 C + 2 tbsp powdered sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 C all-purpose flour

1 C mini chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

dough2. Beat sugar, butter, vanilla and salt in a bowl until creamy. Gradually beat in flour and add the chocolate chips.

3. Shape the dough into one-inch balls and flatten them slightly on a greased cookie sheet. I have a silicone mat that goes into my cookie pan, so they don’t stick.

4. Bake 10-12 minutes until set or slightly brown. Cool on sheets for one minute, then transfer carefully to a wire rack to cool completely.

Strawberry frosting

Icing flavoringIngredients:

1 C powdered sugar

4-6 tsp water

1/2 tsp of icing flavoring (I have powdered flavorings. These work best)

Directions:

1. Mix sugar and mix together. Slowly whisk in the water, one teaspoon at a time, until desired consistency.

Assemble your cookies!

Drizzle the frosting over each cookie. Place the cookies on a rack lined with foil so the icing will set. You can even spread the icing over the top of the cookie. It all depends on how much you want! These little bites melt in your mouth. They’d go great with coffee, if I were a coffee drinker. 🙂

Frosted

cookie recipe courtesy of My Baking Adventures

2 thoughts on “Strawberry frosted chocolate chip shortbread cookies

  1. Your cookies look delicious, Nicole – and I love the picture of the shortening stick. 🙂
    I’ve tried substituting shortening for butter in some of my recipes too, and I’ve found that it doesn’t always turn out very well. 😦

Leave a Reply

