Get your chocolate fix from Super Fresh!

Cake slice

Grammy and I are two peas in a pod when it comes to food shopping. We’ll run off in two different directions at any given grocery store, perusing aisles for tempting treats and, on some occasions, cabbage. This past trip to Super Fresh we picked up a few odds and ends, as well as an interesting chocolate loaf cake.

Chocolate cakeFor three dollars, Grammy and I purchased a double chocolate chip loaf creme cake (they came up with the name, not me) that looked to be quiet interesting.

The cake came in a white wrapper, to seal in freshness, I assume, and was kind of a nuisance to take off the cake. Especially when I wanted a slice right then!

The cake is fairly easy to cut, but crumbles easily. The room temperature cake was pretty good, though I did refrigerate a slice just to see if it were any better, and it was. Definitely eat this cake with a scoop of ice cream on the side! You can’t go wrong.

Don’t be fooled by the “double chocolate chip” name, however, because this cake could use another cup of mini chocolate chips. That could be my chocoholic side calling out, but hey, I’m allowed.

As a sidenote, I can’t recall tasting any creme in this cake. Maybe it was in the glaze?

Cake topDon’t want to leave your house for some loaf cake? Try this out!

Quick Facts:

Serves: about 6 decent-sized slices

Cost: $4.00

Best served: cold, with a scoop of ice cream

Tastes like: Moist chocolate cake with a hint of chocolate chips

2 thoughts on “Get your chocolate fix from Super Fresh!

  1. I really like the pictures on your blog. They aren’t just a plate of food.For example the pic of the cake from Super Fresh looks soo good..but if was walking through the store I probably wouldn’t care for it. It makes me crave cake!! I also like how you add so many other links to recipes in your posts.

    Maybe do a few more posts of you baking step by step. And pictures along the way.

    Thanks for the cookies today! Never had mint choc chip!!
    Delish! =)

  2. I really like all the pictures they bring attention to your site! And also the little story that goes along with each of your posts ( like your granny) LOL. I think its really personal and fun to read

Leave a Reply

