Chocolate cream cheese cupcakes!

Even though next month’s issue of Bon Appetit is already out to the subscribers, I cling to March’s issue, a glorious magazine representation of comfort food gone snobby. I skimmed through my best friend’s copy of the newest issue and sniffed at the lack of delicious dessert recipes that pratically drip off the pages in March’s.

This month’s issue focuses on caramel, pot pies, soup and salads, and easy family meals. On a single page, almost obscured by recipes for Chicken and White Bean Soup with Herb Swirl and Parmesan Toasts, I discovered a recipe that deserved to be dragged out into the artificial light of my kitchen: Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes!

cupcakes

Here’s my version of this gourmet treat:

Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

1 box of chocolate cake mix (I used triple chocolate fudge from Betty Crocker)

Proper amount of eggs, water, and oil that goes with chosen mix

Chocolate chip cream cheese mixtureFilling:

1 8 oz package cream cheese

1 large egg

2 tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 C mini semisweet chocolate chips (I think I used a little bit more than 1/4 C in mine . . .)

Directions:

1. Mix up the cake mix according to the directions on the box.  I even added mini chocolate chips to the batter!

2. Pour the batter into prepared cupcake pans. Each spot should be about two-thirds filled.

Dollops of cream cheese mixture3. Mix together all the filling ingredients. Beat until the mixture looks smooth. Drop about two teaspoonfuls onto each cupcake (some mix might be left over. Feel free to add it to other cupcakes!).

4. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 22 minutes. Halfway through baking time, switch the pans to ensure they bake evenly.

A heart!5. The cupcakes are done when a knife inserted in the cake part comes out clean. If not, bake it for five minutes more.

The cupcakes will be very moist right out of the pan and might fall apart if unwrapped, but they taste like lava cake when still warm. If you want to eat them without it crumbling into a chocolate mess in your hand, let them cool overnight or for at least four hours. This will give the cake enough time to set.

When I made these cupcakes, I forgot to look at the serving amount of the original recipe, which was 12. I made 24 cupcakes. I nearly ran out of cream cheese mixture at the end because I didn’t double it; however, the way my cupcakes turned out was just perfect. 🙂

The cupcakes are trying to send a message . . .

The cupcakes are trying to send a message . . .

9 thoughts on “Chocolate cream cheese cupcakes!

  1. hey..my older sister loves to cook/bake so I told her about your blog and she made these cupcakes…they were delicious!! =)

  2. i made these cupcakes and my mom took them to worl and they were amazing they asked me to make them again(: P.S: im making them again right now…YUM

Leave a Reply

