Cream Cheese Pound Cake – from Shop Rite!

poundcakie

I was meeting with a friend last week, chatting about my past endeavors to be a pastry chef and my new blog, when suddenly she remembered an “amazing” cake.

“It’s the best cake ever. It tastes just like cheesecake, only it’s pound cake. You know what I mean?” she said. “It’s so good. I get it for everyone in the office when I go to Shop Rite.”

I was intrigued to meet this cake, and while my boyfriend and I were out shopping for cupcake ingredients, we picked one up. It cost us $3.99, which isn’t too bad for a college student’s budget, especially for the size of the cake. Cut into decent size pieces of about 2-3 inches across, this cake could easily feed 8 people.

Served straight from the cake container at room temperature, the cake is slightly dry and crumbles easily. At first it smells like it was fried, but eventually that goes away, leaving a simple browned outside and a light dusting of confectioner’s sugar. There’s also a clear lack of cream cheese flavor.

I put it in the refrigerator overnight and the next day, the pound cake was FANTASTIC. It was no longer crumbly, but moist and held together like other pound cakes I’ve eaten. The cream cheese flavor was well-pronounced; this cake really did taste like cheesecake!

This is may not be the recipe for Cream Cheese Pound Cake found in Shop Rite, but I’m still eager to try it. It claims to be dense and moist, which is just what pretend cheesecake – cake should be!

Quick Facts:

Serves: 8

Cost: $3.99

Best served: Cold, with a cool glass of juice

Tastes like: a crusty piece of cheesecake (minus the heavy richness of cream cheese)

Leave a Reply

