No-bake fudge: the perfect V-day gift

Peppermint topped fudge

When it comes to baking, there are just some days when I don’t want to heat up the gas oven in my tiny apartment. The amount of heat that it pumps out is ridiculous, but at the same time, I still want to mix up a chocolatey treat for dessert. The answer is simple: no-bake desserts.

Most people think of pudding mix or pre-made cheesecake filling when it comes to the no-bake category. Me, on the other hand, I reach for my Eagle Brand “Holiday Magic in Minutes” cookbook. Given to me by mother one Christmas during my pastry chef phase, it has a few tried and true no-bake recipes that I rely upon when I’m being lazy.

As this weekend is Valentine’s, I decided to whip up a batch of my favorite Peppermint Chocolate Fudge for my own sweetheart. I made this recipe as Christmas gifts and it went over so well at his house that I knew he’d love it again. I substituted vanilla extract for the peppermint this time. Any extract or flavoring can be used. Test out a few different varieties to see which one you like best!

Check out the Eagle Brand website for more recipes.

Peppermint Chocolate Fudge

Prep time: 10 minutes; Chill time: 2 hours

Ingredients:

2 C milk chocolate chips

1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 (14 oz) can Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk

Dash of salt

1/2 tsp peppermint extract (or any other flavoring)

1/4 C hard peppermint candy (or leftover Christmas candy canes!)

Directions:

(NOTE: This is a chance to break out your double boiler if you have one. If not, improvise using a bowl over a medium-size saucepan. OR, use a saucepan by itself, just be careful you don’t burn the chocolate)

1. Over low heat, melt chips with the condensed milk and salt.

2. As the chocolate is melting, crush the peppermint candy in a double-lined bag. You can use a pot or a hammer or that science textbook/ enormous encyclopedia you never use.

3. Remove chocolate mixture from the heat and stir in extract. Spread evenly into foil-lined 8 or 9-inch square pan. Sprinkle with the crushed candy.

4. Chill the fudge for about two hours or until firm. Place the fudge on a cutting board, peel off the foil and cut into sqaures.

5. Store your fudge in the refrigerator or loosely covered at room temperature.

Makes about two pounds.
One thought on “No-bake fudge: the perfect V-day gift

Leave a Reply

